Ticket #899 (closed defect: invalid)

Opened 12 years ago

Last modified 12 years ago

U-boot seems to trash another partition on upload...?

Reported by: developer@… Owned by: laforge@…
Priority: high Milestone:
Component: host utilities Version: 2007.2
Severity: normal Keywords:
Cc: buglog@… Blocked By:
Blocking: Estimated Completion (week):
HasPatchForReview: PatchReviewResult:
Reproducible:

Description

I've got two GTA01Bv4 Neo's. One came as an Advanced kit the other as a Basic kit.

Background:

Device 1 -> The basic kit came flashed with a 6 item boot menu, openmoko boot
splash image and whatever roofs.

Device 2 -> The advanced kit neo came with a two item boot menu and simply shows
fb penguin on boot.

Both devices successfully boot new-ish kernels, bootloaders and rootfs and
currently have U-boot 1.3.0-rc11.2.0+git20070917+svn2943 (Sept 17 2007 -
23:42:04) and uImage-2.6.22.5-moko11+svnr2937-r2-fic-gta01.bin.

Situation:

So instead of learning the uboot environ variables tonight (it's saturday night,
beer night) I just decided to use dfu-util to upload the uboot_env and splash
partitions from the first device to the second device.
Problem:

  1. After downloading (host->neo) the uboot_env partition data, which I uploaded

(neo->host) from device 1, device 2 now has 6 menu items but the kernel
partition now has bad magic suggesting that the download of the uboot_env
partition data has trashed the uImage partition.

Downloading the uImage again rectifies this situation.

  1. After downloading (host->neo) the splash partition data onto device 2, which

I uploaded (neo->host) from device 1, device has backlit but blank screen. So I
ungziped (with trailing garbage) and then re-gziped the splash image and upload,
I now have a splash on device 2.

It does not seem that I need to re-download the rootfs after downloading the splash.

Granted, I have not done any boot prompt nand erasing... is this a bug or am I
just forgetting something?

Change History

comment:1 Changed 12 years ago by developer@…

The subject line erroneously says "on upload" but should really read "on
download of partition 2".

comment:2 Changed 12 years ago by laforge@…

  • Status changed from new to closed
  • Resolution set to invalid

since the partition table is device-specific and stored in the environment
partition, transferring the environment partition from one device to another
will inevitably trash the partition information.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.